About West Bromwich Albion FC

West Bromwich Albion Football Club, also known as West Brom, The Baggies, The Throstles, Albion or simply WBA, is an English professional football club based in West Bromwich in the West Midlands. The club was formed in 1878 and has played at its home ground, The Hawthorns, since 1900. Albion currently play in the Championship, the second tier of English football, having been relegated from the Premier League in 2017–18.


West Bromwich Albion’s record victory was their 12–0 league win against Darwen on 4 April 1892.This is still the widest margin of victory for a game in the top-flight of English football, although the record was equaled by Nottingham Forest when they beat Leicester Fosse by the same scoreline in 1909.

Albion’s biggest FA Cup victory came when they beat Chatham 10–1 on 2 March 1889. The club’s record league defeat was a 3–10 loss against Stoke City on 4 February 1937, while a 0–5 defeat to Leeds United on 18 February 1967 represents Albion’s heaviest FA Cup loss.

Tony Brown holds a number of Albion’s club records. He has made the most appearances overall for the club, as well as most appearances in the league, FA Cup and in European competition. Brown is the club’s top scorer in the league, the FA Cup and in Europe. He is also the club’s record scorer overall, with 279 goals. W. G. Richardson scored 328 goals for the club, but this includes 100 during World War II, which are not normally counted towards competitive totals. Richardson holds the club record for most league goals in a single season, scoring 39 times in 1935–36.

Albion’s most capped international player, taking into account only those caps won while at the club, is Chris Brunt. He has appeared 38 times for Northern Ireland as a West Brom player, earning 48 caps in total. Jesse Pennington is the club’s most capped England international, with 25 caps. The highest transfer fee paid by the club is £15 million to RB Leipzig for Oliver Burke on 25 August 2017. The record transfer from Albion to another club is that of Saido Berahino to Stoke City in January 2017 for a fee of £12 million.

View more pro clubs


The Baggies, The Throstles, The Albion
The Hawthorns
Darren Moore


CHAMPIONS: 1888, 1892, 1931, 1954, 1968, RUNNERS-UP: 1886, 1887, 1895, 1912, 1935
CHAMPIONS: 2007-08, RUNNERS-UP: 2009-10
FA Charity Shield
CHAMPIONS: 1920, 1954, RUNNERS-UP: 1931, 1968
Football League First Division
CHAMPIONS:1919-20, RUNNERS UP: 1924-25, 1953-54
Football League Second Division
CHAMPIONS:1901-02, 1910-11, RUNNERS-UP: 1930–31, 1948–49, 2001–02, 2003–04
Football League Third Division
CHAMPIONS: 1966, RUNNERS-UP: 1967, 1970
FA Youth Cup
CHAMPIONS: 1976, RUNNERS-UP: 1955, 1969