About Swindon Town FC

Swindon Town Football Club is an English professional football club based in Swindon, Wiltshire and play in League One of the English Football League (now known as the EFL). The club’s home ground since 1896, is the County Ground, which has a capacity of 15,728.

The club became professional in 1894, entering the English Football League in 1920. “The Robins” enjoyed periods of success, most notably during 1968–70, winning the 1969 League Cup by defeating Arsenal at Wembley Stadium and securing promotion to the Second Division.

In 1992, Swindon Town won promotion to the Premier League for the 1992–93 season, the only time the club has played in the top level of English football. Swindon Town were actually the second team to win promotion to the Premier League via the play-offs, after beating Leicester City. This proved to be Swindon’s only season in the top flight. Swindon Town are ranked as the 47th most successful English football club historically and remain in League One, the third tier of the English football league for the 2016/17 season.

View more pro clubs


The Robins
County Ground
David Flitcroft
League 1
Top Goal Scorer:
Harry Morris
Rockin' Robin


Football League 2nd Tier (Currently Football League Championship):
Playoff Winners (2): 1989–90, 1992–93
Football League 3rd Tier (Currently Football League One):
Winners (1): 1995–96 Runners up (2): 1962–63, 1968–69 Playoff Winners (1): 1986–87
Football League 4th Tier (Currently Football League Two):
Winners (2): 1985–86, 2011–12
Southern League:
Winners (2): 1910–11, 1913–14 Runners up (3): 1908–09, 1909–10, 1912–13
Western League:
Winners (1): 1898–99
Football League Cup:
Winners (1): 1968–69
FA Cup:
Semi-Finalists (2): 1909–10, 1911–12
Football League Trophy:
Finalists (1): 2011–12
FA Charity Shield:
Runners-up (1): 1911
Football League Third Division South Cup:
Finalists (1): 1935–36
Anglo-Italian Cup:
Winners (1): 1969–70
Anglo-Italian League Cup:
Winners (1): 1968–69
Wiltshire Cup:
Winners (10): 1986–87, 1887–88, 1888–89, 1889–90, 1890–91, 1891–92, 1892–93, 1896–97, 1903–04, 1919–20