About Reading F.C.

Reading FC are an English professional football club, based in Reading that plays in the Championship. The club competed in the 2012–13 Premier League season, having gained promotion at the end of the 2011–12 season, after winning the Championship.

Reading are nicknamed The Royals, due to Reading’s location in the Royal County of Berkshire, though they were previously known as The Biscuitmen, due to the town’s association with Huntley & Palmers. Established in 1871, the club is one of the oldest teams in England, but did not join The Football League until 1920, and had never played in the top tier of English football league system before the 2006–07 season.

The club holds the record for the number of successive league wins at the start of a season, with a total of 13 wins at the start of the 1985–86 Third Division campaign and also the record for the number of points gained in a professional league season with 106 points in the 2005–06 Football League Championship campaign. Reading finished eighth in their first ever season as a top flight club and remain in The Championship for the 2016/17 season after a mid-table finish.

The club played at Elm Park for 102 years until they moved to the new, state of the art Madejski Stadium in 1998, which was named after the club’s Chairman Sir John Madejski.

View more pro clubs


The Royals
Madejski Stadium (Capacity: 24,161)
Jaap Stam
Top Goal Scorer:
Trevor Senior - 191 goals
Home Kit:
Royal Blue and White hooped shirt, Royal Blue/White shorts and White socks.
Away Kit:
Orange with four unique gradient stripes on the front. It has black applications and a monochromatic black club logo.
Kingsley The Lion


Championship / Football League Division 2
Winners: 2005-06, 2011-12 Runners-Up: 1994-95
League One / Football League Division 3
Winners: 1925-26, 1985-86, 1993-94 Runners-Up: 1931-32, 1934-35, 1948-49, 1951-52, 1994-95, 2001-02
League Two / Football League Division 4
Winners: 1978-79
Full Members Cup:
Winners: 1988
London War Cup:
Winners: 1941
Football League Third Division South Cup:
Winners: 1938
FA Cup:
Semi-finalists: 1927, 2015 Quarter Finalists: 1901, 2010, 2011, 2016
Football League Cup:
Quarter-finalists: 1996, 1998
U21 Premier League Cup:
Winners: (1) 2013–14
Highest league finish:
Premier League 2007, 8th Place